Premier Gospel

Premier Gospel Awards 2017 winners announced

Sun 23 Apr 2017
By Alex Williams

The best of gospel music was celebrated at the Premier Gospel Awards 2017 in London on Saturday night.

Hundreds of people attended the event where Sarah Teibo was presented with the Best Album award.

Five other prizes were given away at The Rock Tower in Tufnell Park.

The annual event, now in its second year, was hosted by Premier Gospel presenter Lady T and The Compozers.

Premier Gospel


Premier Gospel Station Director Muyiwa Olarewaju, said: "It's great to be building upon the success of last year's awards and to present a ceremony that authentically represents UK gospel music like no other ceremony."

Lurine Cato won the Best Female award for the second year while the Best Song went to Leke for Unstoppable .

The award for Choir of the Year was presented to Volney Morgan & New Ye.


Best Male was awarded to Noel Robinson while Bobby Bovell won the Best Video award for Love Love which features Denis Bovell.

The winners were chosen by a panel of industry experts, but the final two categories were chosen by Premier Gospel listeners; the Best Newcomer award by popular vote on the Premier Gospel website was presented to Purist Ogboi and the Best International award went to Travis Greene.

Among the artists who performed during the evening were Kora Award winner Mike Aremu and BBC Choir of the year finalist The Reapers Choir.

comments powered by Disqus
Daily news direct to your inbox
Your News Feed

Stay informed and inform others with up to the minute news from a Christian perspective. 

Daily News email

RSS feeds

News Widgets

You may also like...

How did the early Church lose its way?  More

Why do we worship? More

How do we know that Jesus born into a poor family? More

Who is the Master of time?  More